Educational Stages



International Baccalaureate (IB®) teaching and learning is posed as an interaction between the formulation of questions (inquiry), practical work (action) and thinking(reflection).

IB educational ethos is embodied in the International Middle Years Programme in all its aspects, paying special attention to the following stages of student development:

  • Conceptual understanding
  • Teaching and learning in context
  • Learning skills
  • Service as action
  • Language and identity
  • Diversity in learning and inclusion
  • Rigorous academic curriculum

IBĀ® Learner Profile

The International Middle Years Programme encourages students to be:

  • Creative and critical thinkers
  • Reflective
  • Caring
  • Open-minded
  • Proactive problem-solvers
  • Participative
  • Respectful

This programme focusses on a deeper study of academic disciplines and recognition of the inter-relationships between these in order to address and understand the significant and relevant topics at an individual, national and global level.


The IB Diploma Programme is a challenging two year pre-university curriculum, primarily aimed at students aged 16 to 19. It leads to a qualification that is widely recognized by the world’s leading universities.

Students learn more than just a body of knowledge. The Diploma Programme prepares students for university and encourages them to:

  • Ask challenging questions
  • Learn how to learn using the IB Approaches to Learning
  • Develop a strong sense of their own identity and culture
  • Develop the ability to communicate with and understand people from other countries and cultures
  • Flourish physically, intellectually, emotionally and ethically
  • Explore the nature of knowledge through the programme’s unique theory of knowledge course